The Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy (OICA) is excited to release this week the nominees for the Anne Roberts People’s Choice Awards.  The awards are given annually to an individual and a group that best serves the needs of children in Oklahoma.  The award is named after Anne Roberts, the longest serving executive director for OICA who developed a reputation throughout Oklahoma and across the nation as a champion for children’s well-being. 
Nominees for the individual category in 2018 are:

  • Cheri Fuller, the founder of Oklahoma Messages Project
  • Cody Inman, Special Advisor to the Director of DHS
  • Laurel Swanson, school counselor at Steed Elementary
  • Lisa Smith, former director for the Oklahoma Commission on Children & Youth
  • Marci Brueggen, volunteer for Smart Start Central Oklahoma
  • Miki Farris, co-founder of Infant Crisis Services
  • Ronda Peterson, child advocate
  • Sid Brown, retired Juvenile Court judge and social worker

Nominees for the group category in 2018 are:

  • El Sistema Oklahoma
  • Girl Scouts Western Oklahoma
  • The Jasmine Moran Children’s Museum
  • Kehila Park
  • Oklahoma Lawyers for Children
  • Parent Promise/Prevent Child Abuse Oklahoma
  • Peppers Ranch Foster Care Community
  • Positive Tomorrows
  • Potts Family Foundation/25 by 25

Nominees were submitted by the public online before being narrowed down by an OICA selection committee.  Voting will occur online at through July 27th at 5 PM, one hour before the beginning of the 2nd Annual OICA Heroes Ball. The Heroes Ball is the OICA annual event which recognizes Oklahoma champions for children.  Other winners recognized that evening in pre-selected awards will be the Chickasaw Nation, Senator Ed Long (posthumous), Lou Kerr, First Lady Kim Henry and State Treasurer Ken Miller.
We think the Heroes Ball is a fitting place to recognize these individuals, because these people and organizations are Oklahoma’s real superheroes!
For more information about the Heroes Ball, go to or call (405) 236-5437.